8/Out of the Comfort Zone and Photoshopping…?

Back in high school I was enrolled in multiple art classes. My art 2 class was more digital art based. I was not the greatest at using different computer programs for art due to my lack of overall computer skills. I managed to get the hang of some things but not others.

So, to take a giant leap out of my comfort zone I decided, for some crazy reason, to try and reconnect with my long lost enemy… Photoshop. I took two images that I feel really express the innovative design upheld by Volkswagen and decided to tweak them a little bit.

bus1

This VW Bus shows how outside the box thinking can make such a wonderful product. I wanted to single in and make a statement about the brand. I wanted to display the innovative design in such light that it was blinding, hence the logo shining like the sun because we all know what happens when we stare at the sun! It burns our eyes!

garagept2

What most people cannot tell by looking at this photo is that this is actually a VW garage in Germany. It raises and lowers the cars into “shelves” and brings a particular car when requested. Think about the photo deeply, imagine the amount of time and planning it took to even model this garage on paper, and then also think about the time it took to construct this garage. I took the photo and turned into a collage of photos making one central image to display the innovative design behind each little part of this garage.

About Ben Melton

My name is Benjamin Melton. I am a sophomore at VCU where I am a thrower on the Track and Field Team. This blog is for MASC 201 Curiousness where we explore a brand (VW) and try to think of new original ways to advertise it without making a new brand. Please feel free to comment on my posts as well as follow my blog this semester.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment